The National Academy of Design announced that seventeen artists and architects from across the United States have been elected as National Academicians. Recognized for their contributions to contemporary American art and architecture, this year’s Academicians included Civitellians J. Yolande Daniels (Juror) and Arthur Simms (DG 2008, Juror). Click here to see the full class of new elects.

The annual nomination and election of National Academicians dates back to the National Academy’s founding as America’s first artist-led arts organization in 1825. New Academicians are nominated and elected by the current members of the National Academy, a community of 450 artists and architects from across the country. 

Upon election, Academicians are invited to donate a representative work – called a Diploma Work – to the National Academy’s collection. With more than 8,000 paintings, sculptures, works on paper, architectural drawings and models, and more, the National Academy’s collection has been assembled almost entirely through the donations of its artist and architect members. It is one of the most significant collections of American art and architecture in the world. 

A public, online video program celebrating the Class of 2022 National Academicians will be held on Tuesday, October 25 beginning at 6 pm. A special exhibition featuring recent work of the 2022 National Academicians is anticipated for 2023. More information will be available here