There have been eight Civitellians nominated for the 2020 Grammys in four different categories…

In Best Jazz Vocal Album (for albums containing at least 51% playing time of new vocal jazz recordings), Esperanza Spalding (CRF 2018) was nominated for her album, “12 LITTLE SPELLS.”

In Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media (awarded to Composer(s) for an original score created specifically for, or as a companion to, a current legitimate motion picture, television show or series, video games or other visual media), Hildur Guðnadóttir (CRF 2010) was nominated for “CHERNOBYL.”

In Best Instrumental Composition (for an original composition (not an adaptation) first released during the Eligibility Year. Singles or Tracks only), Fred Hersch (DG 2013) & The WDR Big Band Conducted By Vince Mendoza were nominated for “BEGIN AGAIN.”

In Best Contemporary Classical Composition (for contemporary classical composition composed within the last 25 years, and released for the first time during the Eligibility Year), Derek Bermel (CRF 2005) was nominated for his “MIGRATION SERIES FOR JAZZ ENSEMBLE & ORCHESTRA,” played by the Juilliard Jazz Orchestra & Albany Symphony Orchestra.

In the same category is Jennifer Higdon (CRF 2005) was nominated for her “HARP CONCERTO,” performed by Yolanda Kondonassis, Ward Stare & The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra.

For the same category, Andrew Norman (CRF 2011) was also nominated for his “SUSTAIN,” performed by Gustavo Dudamel & Los Angeles Philharmonic.

In Best Classical Compendium (awarded to the Artist(s) and to the Album Producer(s) and Engineer(s) of over 51% playing time of the album, if other than the artist), Advisory Council Member Harold Meltzer (DG 2013) was nominated for his “SONGS AND STRUCTURES.”

In Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance (for new recordings of works with chamber or small ensemble (twenty-four or fewer members, not including the conductor), Advisory Council Member and 2020 Fellow, Christopher Cerrone (CRF 2012) was nominated for “THE PIECES THAT FALL TO EARTH.”

Congratulations, Civitellians!

Read the complete list of nominees here.