The American Academy of Arts & Sciences has announced its 250+ new members resulting from their 2021 election.

Among those honored are Jericho Brown (CRF 2015, Juror) in Literature and Board Director Deborah Willis (DG 2018) in Visual Arts– both fall under the larger category of Humanities and Arts. Congratulations, Jericho and Deb!

“The Academy was established in 1780 by the country’s founders to provide guidance to a young nation that would face challenges and need expertise and excellence to emerge stronger. While the founders did not anticipate a year with a historic pandemic, overdue racial reckoning, and political strife, the purpose of electing new members is more compelling than ever.

The 2021 election provides an opportunity to recognize extraordinary people who help solve the world’s most urgent challenges, create meaning through art, and contribute to the common good from every field, discipline, and profession.

‘We are honoring the excellence of these individuals, celebrating what they have achieved so far, and imagining what they will continue to accomplish,’ said David Oxtoby, President of the American Academy. ‘The past year has been replete with evidence of how things can get worse; this is an opportunity to illuminate the importance of art, ideas, knowledge, and leadership that can make a better world.'”

To see the complete list of new members, click here.