The longlist, or ‘The Booker Dozen’, for The 2020 Booker Prize was announced last Tuesday 28 July 2020.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges, chosen from 162 novels published in the UK or Ireland between 1 October 2019 and 30 September 2020. The Booker Prize for Fiction is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The 2020 longlist includes Civitellian Tsitsi Dangarembga (CRF 1999) for This Mournable Body, as well as soon-to-be Civitellian Maaza Mengiste for The Shadow King. See the full longlist here.