The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced that composer Missy Mazzoli (CRF 2019) and librettist Royce Vavrek have been awarded the 2023 Marc Blitzstein Memorial Award. Mazzoli and Vavrek will each receive an award of $10,000, which is given in the memory of Marc Blitzstein to composers, lyricists, or librettists to encourage the creation of works of merit for musical theater and opera. Mazzoli and Vavrek have collaborated on the operas Breaking the WavesProving UpSongs from the Uproar, and The Listeners. Learn more here.