The Jazz Journalists Association have awarded their 2024 JJA Jazz Awards. Civitellians were honored in the following categories.

Arranger of the Year: Darcy James Argue (CRF 2017).

Duo of the Year: Fred Hersch (DG 2013) on piano and esperanza spalding (CRF 2018) on vocals.

Violin, Viola, Cello Player of the Year: Tomeka Reid (CRF 2023).

Electric Bassist of the Year: eperanza spalding (CRF 2018).

Book of the Year About Jazz: Biography or Autobiography: Easily Slip Into Another World: A Life in Music, by Henry Threadgill (CRF 2001) with Brent Hayes Edwards (Penguin Random House).

Congratulations to all! Click here for the full list of awards and recipients.